Doubts regarding variables

Hi experts

I am just new to robocorp and i need to clear few of my doubts

Like for list variables we specify as @

But for datatable why we are specifying $ before variable name since it is collection

Can anyone help to clear my doubts

Regards
Nived N

Hi,

The list (@{variable}) and dictionary (&{variable}) syntax is optional when assigning variables. You can use the list syntax when assigning a Table to variable, but it is not necessary. I can try to explain the difference between them.

First off, when doing variable assignment it’s entirely valid to assign lists and dictionaries to scalar variables like this:

${my_list}=    Create list    1    2    3
${my_dict}=    Create dictionary    one=1    two=2

The reason to use the special syntax is that Robot Framework does some extra validation for you:

# This will validate that the keyword returns a list (or something list-like):
@{my_list}=    Create list    1    2    3
# This will validate that the keyword returns a dictionary (or something dictionary-like):
&{my_dict}=    Create dictionary    one=1    two=2

With dictionary variables the assignment does another thing, which is it turns it into a Robot Framework DotDict. A DotDict is otherwise identical to a normal Python dictionary, but allows accessing values through dot-notation: ${my_dict.two}.

Note: If you assigned to @{my_list}, you can always access it through ${my_list}, and vice-versa. They refer to the same variable.

The second place where this syntax is used is when calling keywords. With list or dictionary variables they are unpacked as arguments automatically. If you are familiar with the Python syntax *args or **kwargs, this is similar to that.

For example here we call the first keyword in three different ways: with individual arguments, by unpacking a list, and by unpacking a dictionary:

An example keyword
    [Arguments]    ${first_arg}    ${second_arg}
    Log   Got arguments ${first_arg} and ${second_arg}