Importing library 'RPA.Desktop' failed: ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'RPA'

Hi guys,
I’m new to RPA. I want to learn more about desktop library.
I configured visual studio with plugins and downloaded example windows calculator project.
When I’m trying to run it I got error message

Importing library ‘RPA.Desktop’ failed: ModuleNotFoundError: No module named ‘RPA’

Code example:
*** Settings ***
Library RPA.Desktop.Windows
Library RPA.Desktop
Library String

*** Keywords ***
Open the Calculator
Open Executable calc.exe Calculator

How can I import Desktop and Desktop.Windows libraries as it looks like the RPAFramework does not recognize these.
All other libs works fine and are accessible.

1 Like

Hi @grinti01,

How are you running the bot?

…also please note that this robot when it is executed it fails on purpose as this highlights the difference of automating desktop applications based on application Ids instead of image-based detection.

vscode-run-bot

BR, Kari

Hi Kari,
thanks for your reply.
When I am trying to run the script in the way described by you I got results like:

[ ERROR ] Error in file ‘c:\Robocorp\example-windows-calculator-master\tasks.robot’ on line 2: Importing library ‘RPA.Desktop.Windows’ failed: SyntaxError: invalid syntax (init.py, line 381)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:\Users\grinti\AppData\Local\robocorp\holotree\b1f3c244e_09529949\lib\site-packages\RPA\Desktop_init_.py”, line 10, in
import comtypes.client
PYTHONPATH:
c:\Robocorp\example-windows-calculator-master
C:\Users\grinti\AppData\Local\robocorp\holotree\b1f3c244e_09529949\python37.zip
C:\Users\grinti\AppData\Local\robocorp\holotree\b1f3c244e_09529949\DLLs
C:\Users\grinti\AppData\Local\robocorp\holotree\b1f3c244e_09529949\lib
C:\Users\grinti\AppData\Local\robocorp\holotree\b1f3c244e_09529949
C:\Users\grinti\AppData\Local\robocorp\holotree\b1f3c244e_09529949\lib\site-packages