One Stop Solution for Robot usage

Hii Guys,
I am using this Robot framework for automating the testcases in my Organization and this is very new to us.
Right now we are automating using RED Editor, CMD, PIP but the problem with this is that it is popping up many issues like sometimes library compatibility, Python file functions not getting imported into .robot file, robot framework have to be 3.2.1 in RED then only it’ll import libraries.
So can you guys suggest what will be the best IDE or any other source from where we can run everything on one go.
Right now we are under PoC and strategy phase and we need to decide what will be the best approach to go with.
Consider the organizational restrictions on websites, downloading applications and refer only the safe option.
Thank you

Hi, @Master_B!

I’m obviously biased, so take this with a grain of salt, but as a developer myself, I seriously believe VS Code with Robocorp extensions is the best all-in-one solution.

You get:

• Isolated and consistent Python environments that do not interfere with your operating system Python. This is thanks to rcc that takes care of the heavy lifting. You can focus on implementing tests and not worry about your environment setup.
  • Great auto-completion thanks to the Robot Framework Language Server extension.
  • Really useful debugging support and all the goodies that VS Code provides.
  • Access to other great extensions, should you need more functionality in the IDE.

If you have any questions, shoot!

Hi @jani,

There is problem with using VScode, like it requires Long Path enable(that can be solved) but rcc.exe is not getting downloaded cuz of site restriction.
And even after enabling the Long Path sometimes it asks “Windows Shell Elevated” popup and says enable the Long Path.

And this Error also when using in Remote Machine :point_down: :point_down: