I’m new at using Robocorp. Basically, I have an enviroment in VSCode like this:
.vscode
robot.yaml
tasks.robot
venv

on my robot.yaml I have the following settings:

tasks:
  Run all tasks:
    shell: python -m robot --report NONE --outputdir output --logtitle "Task log" tasks.robot

artifactsDir: output
PATH:
  - venv/bin/python3
PYTHONPATH:
ignoreFiles:
  - .gitignore

I’m trying to not use the conda env. For that reason I removed the condaConfig and added the path to my virtual enviroment. However this does not work. Does anyone know why?

I get the error:
Unable to resolve interpreter for:

Do not manually manage environments and do not use venv. Our rcc will take care of environment management if you let it. All you have to do is allow our tooling to create robots for you, and then you add your dependencies to conda.yaml there.

See:

Hello Thanks for the reply! Unfortunately, I would prefer to not use the conda environment. You can I use my own virtual environment?

Is there good reason for not using conda? I’m just curious, because this is valuable information to us also.

And yes, of course you can use your own setup, but there we cannot much help you, since most of our tooling is based on declarative, repeatable, isolated, and clean environments created using micromamba (conda) and pip. And keeping those environments that way automatically, not manually, using our open source tool, rcc.

And doing that with venv is not support on our cloud platform. But you can setup your local machines or virtual machines or containers your self, and then run Workforce Agent there, or try to use our developer tools. But be warned, it might be uphill battle.

Or maybe you could try out our tooling and give us valuable feedback what we are missing against your self managed venv environments.

Thanks for the feedback.